City · poetry

Only Mine

By Nidhi Batra

When the night, its darkness and its light..
are only meant for me…
when the wide open roads..
gently wet by the last shower..
sparkle beneath my feet..
and embrace me..
I know the night is meant for me…

When the wind blows through my hair..
swifts my flowy skirt..
makes me shrug my shoulders..
close my eyes..
and kiss it…
I know the night is meant for me…

When the world looks so fresh and new
sitting on the window seat..
with a droplet on its pane
reflecting the big whole world
in its own small being..
I know the night is meant for me..

When the road calls me back
to walk with it…
meandering through faces, all which
look so anew.. Somehow meant to stare at me…
and, still I walk past them
wondering, how the same road
which greeted me as if, its only mine
holds these….

Only until a while, when I realize
their presence is lifeless to me
and its only the darkness and the glow in light
and the loving road
which makes this night meant for me…!

Leave a Reply

